Born in Niigata (Japan). Noriko BABA studied composition, acoustic, analyse, orchestration and ethnomusicology at the Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music, the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris, and Computermusic at IRCAM. She has been the recipient of numerous grants and awards, including NHK-Mainichi award for composition, first prize of Takefu International festival, Prix Georges Wildenstein of Académie des Beaux-Arts de l'Institut de France, fellowship from the Akiyoshidai International Art Village, several grants from SACEM, residence fellowship from the Akademie Schloss Solitude in 2005, scholarship as a member of "Casa de Velazquez" in 2006-2008 and a residence fellowship "Villa Kujoyama" in 2012 from French Goverment. Her works are realised by various organizations, such as Ensemble 2e2m, Court-Circuit, Ascolta, L'instant Donné, Intercontemporain, Cairn, Next Mushroom Promotion, Pasdeloup, Diotima, Nomade, Ives, Neue VocalSolisten, Cross.Art, Meitar, at various festivals as Die Reich, Archipel, World Music Day, ISCM, Festival Musica, Milano Musica, Biennale di Venezia, and are filmed by Michel Follin, broadcasted by ARTE.


Au pavillon de (Monsieur) Porcelaine for Soprano, Violin, Cello & Piano (2019), 5mn
Nié for String quartet, Piano & Electronics (2019), 5mn
Occhi, un tempo mia vita for 2 cellos and Clarinet (2018), 9mn
Comptines for Soprano, Clarinet & Piano (2018), 10mn
Menuet (project for children) for Flute and Clarinet (2018), 2mn
Five workouts for organist for Organ (2017), 10mn
Hagoromo Suite for String quartet and Nô voice (2017), 10mn
Doppio Trio for Recorder, Viola da gamba, Harpsichord, Flute, Cello and Piano (2016), 8mn
Sonatine for Viola and Piano (2016), 10mn
AOI -Nôpéra- for Nô voice, 2 percussions, Flute, Clarinet, Bassoon, Violin, Viola and Cello (2015), 60mn
AOI -Nôpéra- extract version for Nô voice, Flute & Percussion (2015), 20mn
9600 for String Quartet (2014), 9mn
GÔSHU for 5 voices (2013), 9mn
Shiosai for Piano Trio (2012), 8mn30sec
Vom Himmel hoch da komm' ich her und Vier Zwischenspiele for Organ (2012), 9mn30sec
Oiseau à deux têtes for Nô voice, 2 musicians (2012), 9mn
Non-canonic Variations for flute, clarinet, viola and cello (2011), 7mn
Klartraum for Orchestra (2010), 9mn
Tamayura for guitar, cello (2010), 3mn
Pas plus gros que le poing for Organ (2010), 3mn30sec
Nest for Violin, Percussion, Piano and Video (2010), 3mn
Halo for String Quartet (2009), 13mn30sec
Moya for Flute, Clarinet, Guitar, Viola and Cello (2008), 6mn
Bonbori for flute, clarinet, guitar, viola and cello (2008), 10mn
Ultrabaroque for solo viola da gamba (2008), 3mn
Kalavinka for organ and 2 assistants (2007), 5mn
Pseudoscope for ensemble (2007), 8mn
Sol-itude for cello (2007), 3mn
Box and cox for organ and 2 assistants (2006), 5mn
Harmonieux forgeron for piano (2006), 3mn
Pseudoscope II for 6 players (2006), 6mn
Pseudoscope III for ensemble (2006), 6mn
Shôjô for flute and orchestra (2005), 6mn
Triplum pendulum for flute, percussion and vocals (2004-2005), 10mn
Mira for tuba and ensemble (2004), 7 mn
for clarinet and electronics (2004), 10mn
Second souffle for 30 instruments (2002), 11mn
En haut et en bas for string quartet and harp (2001), 9mn
La valse for 20 instruments (2001), 7 mn
Étude pour bisbigliando for alto saxophone solo (2000), 3mn
Radiations visibles for quintet (1999), 11mn